NEVER SEEN IT: Teeth

teeth_ver2_xlg

Date released: January 18, 2008

Date watched: February 28, 2015

Why now? What better way to wrap up Women in Horror month than by exploring a female-led horror movie I missed?

Why not then? I think it was one I just didn’t fancy at the time and I thought the concept sounded a little dumb.

Expectations:

  • Some very literal interpretations of the horror “sex = death” rule.
  • Body horror of the “very particular things getting bitten off” variety.
  • Maybe a couple of genital based puns?
  • A dosage of female revenge.

What I actually got:

  • Something a lot slicker and smarter than I was expecting.
  • A really great performance from Jess Weixler. She plays all the shades of Dawn’s character well–from the sweet and dorky chastity-preaching innocent, to a confused and scared girl, to her final role as a kind of twisted man-punishing vigilante.
  • A lot blacker humour than I was expecting, I laughed at the really confused surgeons dealing with Dawn’s “victims.”
  • I did nearly throw up once. It was the bit with the dog. Apparently that’s where I draw the line.
  • America, this is why you need better sex education. So that unaware young girls are prepared for when their genitals start killing people.

One night stand or second date potential? Hmmmm, a tricky one. There was a lot I enjoyed: Jezz Weixler, the interesting plays on gender politics and the general fear of female sexuality (the diagram in the school book thing cracked me up), and all the monster imagery. However, I did find the tone to be a little uneven at times. I’m not sure if I would watch it again just on its own, but it could definitely make for a good double feature with another film centred on the horror and female sexual identity theme such as Ginger Snaps.

One response to “NEVER SEEN IT: Teeth

Leave a Reply

