NEVER SEEN IT: Forgetting Sarah Marshall

forgetting sarah marshall poster

BY MICHELLE MEDFORD

Date Released: April 18, 2008

Date Watched: April 30, 2014

Why now? Neighbours is releasing in theatres this weekend! It’s another film directed by Nicholas Stoller and just reminded me that Forgetting Sarah Marshall has been on my “to watch” list for far too long.

Why not then? Who knows, really? Really, why didn’t I watch this movie? It’s written by Jason Segel, produced by Judd Apatow and starring the hilarious Russell Brand. Plus, it also features Mila Kunis fresh out of That 70s Show, which had been one of my favourite TV shows in its run. So really, how did I miss this movie?

Expectations:

  • Hopefully an unforgettably funny movie
  • Jason Segel at his best
  • A desire to visit Hawaii

What I actually got:

  • A somewhat funny movie. I can see on paper that yes, this movie is funny, but it’s not my flavour of funny, except for most of the Russell Brand bits (which I’m sure much of it was improv, so even more props to him). My personal favourite: “Oh god, not the shirt! Take my eyes, but not the shirt!”
  • Bill Hader also being great as Peter’s (Segel) brother-in-law, with some pretty funny webcam moments with his wife
  • Mila Kunis being her cute, charming self (if you’re a fan, make it a double-bill: Follow this movie up with Friends with Benefits)
  • I kind of still most prefer Jason Segel in I Love You, Man, but he’s not bad her either. I would definitely see “A Taste for Love,” his Dracula rock opera
  • However, on the Paul Rudd note, he was so hilarious as Kunu, the bizarre surfing instructor on the beach
  • A desire to visit Hawaii

One night-in stand or second date potential? I probably won’t intentionally seek this one out again, but if it’s on TV, maybe I’ll spend a few minutes with it, especially if it’s a Russell Brand or Paul Rudd scene.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8Xg1vVkIh8]

Leave a Reply

