NEVER SEEN IT: The Great Muppet Caper

NSI_the great muppet caper_posterBY KENDALL ERICKSON

Date released: June 26, 1981

Date watched: March 6, 2014

Why now?: Some of my best friends have gushed and gushed about how hilarious and entertaining this movie is; from the songs to the plot, they’ve had nothing but good things to say, and with the upcoming release of the next Muppet installment, Muppets Most Wanted, I figured it was time to bite the bullet and “meet the Muppets.”

Why not then?: This likely cannot be explained, nor will it make sense but, as a kid–and I’ll be honest, even as an adult–I’ve always had this weird fear of the Muppets. I don’t mean that I run out of the room screaming when I see them, but they always creeped me out. Miss Piggy and Kermit the Frog in particular, though I think the Miss Piggy fear extends from a recurring nightmare about her I had as a kid…so, ya…that’s why. Also, have you seen Kermit’s eyes? They just seem so dead! (I know, I know, he’s a Muppet!)

Expectations:

  • Creepy Muppets (see above)
  • Catchy songs, because if there’s anything that the muppets always do right, it’s music
  • Simple writing fueled by “kid” humour

What I actually got:

  • Amazing songs AND dance numbers. Seriously, who knew Muppets could dance?!
  • A fun storyline that’s honestly enjoyable for people of all ages
  • Clever British humour that legitimately made me laugh out loud
  • A lot of breaking of the fourth wall, which, when done well, can be hilarious, and the Muppets get it right every time!

One night-in stand or second date potential?: Definitely second date potential. I still think they’re a little bit creepy, but it’s worth watching again just for the music alone! At least, that’s one critic’s opinion.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09tVBhCvv0M]

kendallA student at Dalhousie University, Kendall is a musical theatre geek and a huge fan of singing in the shower. She is a bookworm, musician and that person who literally cries during every chick flick.

Read more of Kendall’s posts.

Leave a Reply

