GIMME FIVE: Julia Roberts Movies

BY ASHLEY KOWALEWSKI

August: Osage County has been in theatres for a couple of weeks now, but in case you’re holding off on heading to the theatre to see Julia Roberts back in action, we’ve rounded up some of her best roles. America’s sweetheart with the 100-watt smile, she has by far one of the most iconic laughs (and uncannily resembles my boyfriend’s mom, though she refuses to admit it) and has played some legendary roles. Basically, this is just a list of why I love her so much. Sorry guys.

5) Mona Lisa Smile 

mona_lisas_laecheln_08

Due in large part to the fact that I was an art history major, I love this movie. That moment when they see the Pollock actually makes my heart palpitate every time I watch this movie on TV. All that artsy-fartsy stuff aside, Julia Roberts was her natural charming self in this movie. Playing an art history professor at an uptight girls-only college in the 50s, the Cali-bred historian pushes the envelope and gets the prissy conservative trust-fund babies to expand their horizons past going to school for three years, getting married and then dropping out to “keep house.” She butts heads with some, opens the eyes of others but truly makes us take a long hard look at how far we’ve come as educated women. Cinematically, at least. (AND there’s a Pollock painting. Shivers.)

4) Mystic Pizza 

mystic-pizza

Have you heard of this movie? Maybe not. Have you seen this movie? Likely not. This is probably one of THE most underrated and under-heard-of JR flicks. Truthfully, I watched this for the first time last year (to the excitement of fille Emily) and I loved it. The hair! The coming-of-age-ness! The general 80s awesomeness! This was the first time we saw what JR could really do, and well, she hasn’t disappointed yet.

3) Erin Brockovich

f100ernbrock

This was such a fantastic movie and frankly, I can’t think of a better person than Julia Roberts to play Erin Brockovich. I’m sure you know the story, but in case you were living under a rock when this flick came out, it follows single mom Erin Brockovich and her struggles with making ends meet, until she gets a job at a law firm and blows a case of contaminated water meets cancer of a whole town wide open. This flick got Julia an Oscar for best actress and it was one of the few Oscars over the years that I’ve actually agreed with.

2) Stepmom

stepmom_2459520k

I am wholly incapable of watching this movie without crying. It’s just not possible. Aside from it being sad as all hell, Susan Sarandon and Julia Roberts are perfect together and their banter back and forth seems effortless. This movie was big for me because I felt like there were very few flicks out there that touched on the real issues of mixed families (something not that unheard of), and took an interesting perspective showing the first and second wives having to deal with one another on a regular basis. Plus, the whole Jena Malone “limp dick” scene is just awesome. I wish my stepmom had been that cool.

1) Pretty Woman

pretty-woman_julia-roberts_01

This movie is just so good (sooooo goooood!!!!). One of those flicks that you watch whenever it’s on TV and one of those flicks that I have on VHS, but not DVD, because I feel like watching it on anything but VHS might ruin the nostalgia of the movie. Plus, Richard Gere is a total stud. Plus, the scene with the flowers and fire escape. Plus, there is no bad thing you can say about this movie. Ever. Nope. Not even. Excuse me while I go hook up my VCR and re-watch this.

Honourable mention goes to her role as Tess Ocean in Ocean’s Eleven and Ocean’s Twelve. The scene where she plays Julia Roberts in the latter kills me every. freaking. time.

Leave a Reply

