Anchorman 2

the-best-part-of-anchorman-2-features-a-star-studded-epic-news-team-brawl
BY ASHLEY KOWALEWSKI

*Sighs* Where do I even begin?

I truly have no freaking idea what possessed me to watch this movie. I loathed the first one and vowed never to watch it again. Maybe because I knew my boyfriend would drag me to watch it anyway, so I might as well put on a brave face. (I should have just gone to see American Hustle by myself.) But really, my money would have been better spent on shoes that have rusty nails protruding through them. Walking on such tortuous footwear would have been less agonizing than sitting through two hours of Anchorman 2.

To be entirely fair, this movie makes a mockery of itself and does it well. The comedy is very pointed and they know exactly what they are doing. They know they’re being crass, racist and downright stupid at times, and frankly, it’s applausable for a movie to set an intention for such a reaction and actually achieve it. They know precisely who they’re target audience is (not me) and that’s who they’re aiming to please (again, not me). BUT, it doesn’t change the fact that this movie was utterly idiotic.

I am most certainly not the aforementioned target audience,  but even the Anchorman-loving boyfriend left the theatre only giving a “meh” review saying by the end “it was a bit too much.” (Biggest understatement of the century, but I digress.)  And the fact is, I should have enjoyed this. It has a cast filled with people I love under normal circumstances (Will Ferrell, Paul Rudd, Kristen Wiig) and was created by Judd Apatow, whom I also love. Alas, not even that could make me like this movie.

In an effort to rationalize the $12 spent on my movie ticket, I tried to see the silver lining and concede that there were a few minor saving graces:

  • The dynamic between Steve Carell and Wiig’s characters is super awkward and uncomfortable and pretty much awesome. I hope someone touches my shoulder like that someday.
  • All the–SPOILER ALERT–cameos! Drizzy Drake, Sacha Baron Cohen, Will Smith, Kirsten Dunst, Jim Carey, Marion Cotillard, Vince Vaughn, Kanye West (blech–this was actually the anti-saving grace), Harrison Ford, Liam Neeson, John C. Reilly, Tina Fey and Amy Poehler.
  • When the movie ended. Best part of the whole flick.
D
One response to “Anchorman 2

  1. Good review Ashley. Most comedy sequels blow and try too hard for laughs, but this one was good and funny enough to not be placed along with that idea.

Leave a Reply

