NEVER SEEN IT!, HOLIDAY EDITION: Polar Express

polar express
BY KENDALL ERICKSON

Date Released: 2004

The gist: A young boy is beginning to doubt that Santa Claus exists, but on Christmas Eve, a magical train appears in the middle of his street and the boy hops aboard and begins a journey to the North Pole.

Why I Grinch-ed out and avoided it: It just never appealed to me–but do I ever remember the trailers for it! OMG. They were everywhere. I think I came close to watching it in school once on the last day before Christmas break though. Our teacher gave us the option of this one or How the Grinch Stole Christmas… Needless to say; Jim Carrey won by popular demand.

Merry mistakes:

  • This movie being made

Magical moments:

  • When the kids stopped singing
  • When Tom Hanks wasn’t speaking. (Forgive me Tom, I adore you, but not in this.)
  • Some of the landscape animation was nice…sort of
  • The music is good; I’ll give them that

Happy holiday or ho-ho-horrible? I don’t want to say that I hated it, and forgive me for sounding like Ebenezer Scrooge, but…I hated it. In my opinion, the animation looks and feels gross, the main characters are not interesting, in fact, they’re kind of annoying, and the story is dull. I think it’s one of those movies that you had to have fallen in love with as a kid in order to really enjoy it as an adult. Needless to say, I’m thanking my 12 year-old self for avoiding this one. I don’t think it will ever become the classic that A Christmas Story or Miracle on 34th Street became–and rightfully so. It was awful, and if I have it my way, I will never watch it again. 

kendallA student at Dalhousie University, Kendall is a musical theatre geek and a huge fan of singing in the shower. She is a bookworm, musician and that person who literally cries during every chick flick.

Read more of Kendall’s posts.

Leave a Reply

