GIMME FIVE: X-Men Who Need Movies

BY ARIANA POTICHNYJ

With The Wolverine due out this week, here are five X-Men who also deserve movies of their own.

5) Emma Frost

emma frost

Everyone and their mother is super into reformation arcs, and X-Men writers are no exception. A villainess turned good is just what would make a great Hollywood flick, although I would probably suggest a different actress to play the part. It’s not that January Jones can’t act very well, it’s that she can’t act her way out of a paper bag. Emma Frost is a deeply complex character, which could open many plot doors for movie writers to explore.

4) Nightcrawler

nightcrawler

For a dude who is pretty well known, his story isn’t all that clear. And what better way to clear things up than with an Origins movie? Why is it that Wolverine keeps getting movies anyway? We get it, you have claws. Kurt Wagner can teleport. When you can do that, Wolverine, you can have another movie. But in the mean time, let’s get our German circus performer on and get ourselves a Nightcrawler movie.

3) Gambit

gambit

Lovingly referred to in my group of friends as “Criss Angel of the Bayou” or “Super GOB”, Gambit would make an amazing film. Think The Illusionist but mixed with, you know, a superhero movie. Homeboy also kicks a lot of ass with a giant staff. Who doesn’t want to watch this? Magic and hand-to-hand combat. If you are not satisfied, you need to check yourself before I wreck you.

2) Rogue

rogue

Taste the angst, Hollywood. Seeing her groovy mutation as a curse, Rogue would make an excellent movie for emotional complexity and angst. The film would be amazing; you are born into something you don’t want. I mean, of course, because people who write movies lately do not know subtlety, this would probably turn into a metaphor for being burdened with glorious purpose, when this is a perfect chance to make a metaphor for being discriminated against because you are different. Oh Rogue, I love you. Even if you don’t always like yourself.

1) The Brotherhood of Evil Mutants

brotherhood

You heard me, I want a villain movie. I want somebody to give me an entire superhero movie from the twisted perspectives of the villains, and I feel like the Broship of the Evil would be a great film. Am I totally biased because I love Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver? Yes. However, my bias aside, I see great potential in breaking away from “hero” movies and maybe having a couple from the villain’s points of view. And really, any time we get to see some more Magneto is good with me.

ArianaAriana goes to Dalhousie University, where she’s doing a History and English combined honours. Her favourite things are America, Mexican food, being the worst Ukrainian ever, and Stanley Kubrick.

Read more of Ariana’s posts.

One response to “GIMME FIVE: X-Men Who Need Movies

  1. Rogue is one of my favorite X-Men; I felt like Anna Paquin did “ok” in the role, but I’d like to see a sexier, more bad-ass version of Rogue in the future (which I don’t believe Paquin could pull off). Rogue has amazing potential!

Leave a Reply

