Never Seen It!: Interview with the Vampire

interview with the vampire posterBY KENDALL ERICKSON

Date released: November 11th, 1994

Date watched: July 3rd, 2013

Why now? I recently found the novel by Anne Rice from which the film is based on, so I figured, may as well give a movie about vampires that don’t sparkle a try. Also, there is new fang-led flick, Byzantium, coming out this week.

Why not then? Well, I was 2. So, pretty sure I was strictly rocking out to Barney & Friends at the time.

Expectations:

  • Tom Cruise being annoying.
  • Brad Pitt being mildly attractive? Since back in the ’90s, he was apparently a pretty big deal.
  • A movie infinitely better than Twilight.
  • “Sexy time” with vampires.

What I actually got:

  • Tom Cruise actually not making me extremely irritated.
  • I stand by my original thoughts on Brad Pitt. He’s not attractive, and he wasn’t in this movie either.
  • Then child actor Kirsten Dunst ‘wowing’ me with her performance. Seriously, I always forget that she’s been at this for years.
  • Cinematically, a very ‘pretty’ movie.

One night-in stand or second date potential? Second date potential, but only if I’m in the right mood.

kendallA student at Dalhousie University, Kendall is a musical theatre geek and a huge fan of singing in the shower. She is a bookworm, musician and that person who literally cries during every chick flick.

Read more of Kendall’s posts.

Leave a Reply

