DVD: To Rome With Love

To Rome with Love DVD

BY JENNA SIMPSON

I don’t really know what to say, or where to begin, with Woody Allen’s latest movie, To Rome With Love. Maybe I should say that I generally like Woody Allen movies, especially the older stuff, that Vicky Christina Barcelona is one of my favourite movies, and that I found Midnight in Paris absolutely enchanting.

To Rome With Love does not continue Allen’s recent string of wonderful, delightful, charming movies set in beautiful European cities. It is, to put it bluntly, a hot mess. The casting is full of misfires, the story lines are incoherent and preposterous (and not in a good way), and there seems to be an attempt at some magic realism (which I am normally totally into!) with Alec Baldwin’s character that completely misses the boat, leaving the viewer confused and, frankly, annoyed. I wanted to stop watching it about 40 minutes in, but since I had committed to writing this post, I stuck it out for the duration.

I have only three good things to say:

1) Penelope Cruz is lovely as ever, and did the best she could with what she was given (as I’m sure did the rest of the cast, kind of).

2) Rome is beautiful. I want to go there immediately.

3) The soundtrack is great, if not a bit predictable.

I’m sure the Italian cast members are well-known in Italy, but honestly, I couldn’t be bothered to do any research into this movie. I really don’t even want to put any more effort into writing this post, as I am getting more annoyed by the minute that I have already wasted two perfectly good hours watching this incoherent, incomprehensible travesty of modern cinema.

D
[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIbYqxqtP38]
Leave a Reply

