DVD: 10 Years

Image

BY ISA MONTAGNESE

So I am about a year away from being 10 years out of high school, for reals, that’s not cool guys, but whatever. My problems aside, 10 Years kind of hit home for me! The movie jumps right into a group of old high school mates and their plus ones meeting up to go their 10-year high school reunion. It’s an ensemble cast (kind of) featuring Channing Tatum, Justin Long, Rosario Dawson, Aubrey Plaza and a lot of people you’d recognize but wouldn’t be able to place (ex. Anthony Mackie from The Hurt Locker). The old gang gets back together and heads to the reunion where their old selves resurface.

The entire movie is centred around the party and has a pretty minimal plot but lots of character development. It’s one of those movies where everything happens on one night, and its all about the characters in that moment. The best (or worst!) comparison I can think of is Can’t Hardly Wait, where the majority of the plot centres around a party and all the important characters have their little moments, then in the morning they all go their separate ways. If you liked that movie when it came out, you’ll like this one.

The reunion is all it promises to be, full of old flames and old rivals and it seems the minute everyone steps into the party, they’re forced to be the high school versions of themselves. This is the part of the movie that really hit home because I don’t live in my home town anymore and neither do my parents, so I never really get a chance to see my high school friends and I know if my graduating class were to have a reunion, I’m sure the minute I step foot in my home town I’d be that crazy, little, naive duckling again. That’s exactly what happens to these characters. They seem to have picked up their old problems and unresolved issues right where they left them and had forgotten about them for 10 years. The cast is a big part of the charm for sure and I love a movie where you really have to be a pro to name where all the B characters are from; this movie would be a great trivia night game.

I’m not sure what was wrong with me when I watched this movie, but I was really into it! It isn’t a movie I would normally gravitate towards but maybe all that early 2000s music softened my heart. It was also fairly well-paced, and not long-winded or overly-dramatic! Just a cute, little movie about nostalgia.

C+
Leave a Reply

