MUM’S THE WORD: Two generations on Hope Springs

Image

BY ISA MONTAGNESE

Hope Springs is not a movie I would usual gravitate towards, even though the trailers were kind of cute. It just isn’t my story! So I thought, who do I know who would love this movie and tell me all about it whether I wanted to hear it or not? MY MUM!

My mum is the target audience for this movie. She’s of the right age, she’s straight, she’s been married the exact same amount of time as the characters, she loves a good comedy and she loves Meryl Streep. So I asked my mum to watch it with me to see what she thought.

In the film, Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones play a long time suburban married couple. They’re in a rut and they need a boost, so Kay (Meryl Streep) signs them up for a week long couple’s counselling thing. Streep meekly whimpers and Jones complains. Overall, this film is pretty slow and dull – there’s not a lot of drama or comedy. It’s just a safe, middle of the road dramedy with big stars.

Don’t get me wrong! I like Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones is fun, but they carried the movie and there wasn’t much room for a lot of great acting moments.

So after the movie I asked my mum for some thoughts

ISA: Ok mum, what did you like about the movie?

MUM: It seemed real, like they went to see that guy and he gave them ideas on how to help their marriage but it wasn’t just like A, B, C and i liked that it didn’t always work. I loved how cantankerous he was and I loved Meryl Streep’s facial expressions! Ha ha.

I: Yeah, he was cranky!

M: Yeah, the fact that he just couldn’t see what the problem was, that seemed real. ‘Cause I’ve known married couples where the husband just didn’t know what was going on, or chose not to anyways. I also liked the scenes with the therapist ’cause he asked really to the point questions and they used the space on the couch really well. Like they’d be close together then far apart to show how they were feeling.

I: What didn’t you like about it?

M: Was a little slow in parts and they didn’t explain. I don’t know if I missed something, but they don’t explain why he was so distant. They just seemed so awkward for a couple that’s had kids and he didn’t seem to like being touched!

I: Do you feel like it represents your generation?

M: It didn’t feel like my generation to me. It felt like my parents generation more.

I: Like overly traditional?

M: Yeah, like they were married for 31 years, but so are we! We were teenagers in the ’70s, so I don’t know couples like that! Ha ha. You know what I mean? Yet again, it is Middle America, so I don’t know!

I: I thought it would be funnier.

M: Yeah, they always show the funny clips in the previews!

Thanks, mum!!

C-

Leave a Reply

